Domains of Learning and Learning Taxonomy

Bloom's Taxonomy is a classification of learning objectives that educators set for students.  The taxonomy divides educational objectives into three "domains": Cognitive, Affective, and Psychomotor.

Bloom's Taxonomy of Learning Domains

There is more than one type of learning. A committee of colleges, led by Benjamin Bloom (1956), identified three domains of educational objectives:

Bloom's Taxonomy

A simple outline of the different categories of Bloom's Taxonomy from the University of Victoria.

Educational Origami

View the Educational Origami site which is a blog and a wiki about 21st Century Teaching and Learning which includes Bloom's Digital Taxonomy.

The Cognitive Domain - Get them thinking.

Explore the various levels of learning within the Cognitive Domain and the suggested activities that can be used to engage and support higher order critical thinking.

The Affective Domain. Get them caring about learning

Opening students hearts to learning is often harder than getting them to open their minds. Explore the various levels of the Affective Domain and design your learning to include items that students will care about.

The Psychomotor Domain. Get Them Doing

The Psychomotor Domain involves the doing of learning. This is where modelling, building and demonstartion of skills is planned. Moving from low level to high levels of competency needs to be mapped out to support each learner. Explore this resource for ideas and suggested activities.

Bloom's Taxonomy - College Teaching Tips

Look for more information and teaching tips using Bloom's Taxonomy.