align-justify canada-greenest-employers chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up minus plus remove search
TeamPhoto-Final2

CONTACT OUR TEAM

Have questions? We’re here to help!

 

Applied Research & Innovation

Humber Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning
205 Humber College Blvd., Room D224
Toronto, ON  M9W 5L7

research@humber.ca

Applied Research & Innovation Staff

Darren Lawless, PhD

Darren Lawless, PhD

Dean, Applied Research & Innovation

darren.lawless@humber.ca

Candice Watson, MA

Candice Watson, MA

Operations Manager

candice.watson@humber.ca

Crystal Williams

Crystal Williams

Program Manager

crystal.williams@humber.ca

Amanda Brown, MSc

Amanda Brown, MSc

Partnership Development Manager (on leave)

amanda.brown@humber.ca

Jennifer Larson

Jennifer Larson

Partnership Development Manager

jennifer.larson@humber.ca

Jaqueline Nicol, BComm

Jaqueline Nicol, BComm

Administrative Coordinator

jaqueline.nicol@humber.ca

Duarte Ribeiro, BComm

Duarte Ribeiro, BComm

Finance and Operations Analyst

duarte.ribeiro@humber.ca

Jessica Nwaluka, BHSc

Jessica Nwaluka, BHSc

Project Coordinator

jessica.nwaluka@humber.ca

Barrett Centre for Technology Innovation

Neal Mohammed, MEd

Neal Mohammed, MEd

Director, Centre for Technology Innovation

neal.mohammed@humber.ca

Nelia Louro

Nelia Louro

CTI Coordinator

nelia.louro@humber.ca

Centre for Entrepreneurship

Raeshelle Morris, MA

Raeshelle Morris, MA

Manager, Centre for Entrepreneurship

raeshelle.morris@humber.ca

Frequently Asked Questions

Partners
What kind of research takes place at Humber?

Applied research, so research that solves a specific problem provides a measurable and immediate benefit. All of the applied research and innovation projects we fund involve external partners: industry or community organizations.

How long does it take to prepare a grant application?

This depends on the granting agency and the funding requested. Humber faculty or staff will lead the project and will be completing the application. Contact research@humber.ca to learn more about how to partner with us on your project.

Faculty
How can Applied Research & Innovation help me?

We can help you turn your idea into a research question.  Once your research question has been identified, we can help you identify partnership opportunities, identify funding opportunities, and complete grant applications.  We can also assist with the management of awarded funds, student research assistants, risk, project timelines, and financial reporting.

Does Applied Research & Innovation conduct any research?

No, Applied Research & Innovation does not conduct research.  We work with faculty members, staff members, students, and industry partners to support applied research at Humber.

I want to apply for funding, but I don’t know where to start. What should I do?

We are here to help! Contact us at research@humber.ca, and we will be happy to discuss your options.

What approvals do I need to apply for funding?

Faculty or staff must have the approval of their Humber Dean or Director before preparing and submitting a funding application. External grant applications must be approved by Applied Research & Innovation before submission to the granting agency. We will work closely with you to ensure you have the right approvals in place before you apply for funding.

Does Applied Research and Innovation provide funding for Humber employees engaging in research activities for academic credit or credentials?

No. Research activities for academic credit or credentials (e.g. a faculty/staff member’s Masters or PhD thesis research) are not eligible for Applied Research & Innovation funding.

Students
What is the Research Assistant Online Tutorial?

The Research Assistant Online Tutorial is an interactive and comprehensive training module designed to introduce students to the basic principles of research at large, and working as a Research Assistant (RA) in particular. The tutorial, offered by Humber as a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) through CourseSites by Blackboard, provides an overview of the research process, distinguishes between types of methodology and analysis, and acts as an educational resource for students doing research in class or those hired as RAs for faculty-led research.

How do I submit my timesheets?

All timesheets must be submitted to your supervisor by 12:00 noon on the due date.  No timesheet will be approved by Applied Research & Innovation before it has been approved by your supervisor.  Your supervisor is responsible for approving and emailing your completed timesheet to research@humber.ca by 4:00pm on the due date.