Applied Research & Innovation Staff

Dr. Darren Lawless

Dr. Darren Lawless

Dean, Applied Research & Innovation

darren.lawless@humber.ca

Dr. Ginger Grant

Dr. Ginger Grant

Associate Dean, Applied Research & Innovation

ginger.grant@humber.ca

Candice Watson

Candice Watson

Operations Manager (parental leave)

candice.watson@humber.ca

Tanya Perdikoulias

Tanya Perdikoulias

Operations Manager

tanya.perdikoulias@humber.ca

Crystal Williams

Crystal Williams

Program Manager

crystal.williams@humber.ca

Amanda Brown

Amanda Brown

Partnership Development Manager

amanda.brown@humber.ca

Jennifer Larson

Jennifer Larson

Marketing & Communications Manager

jennifer.larson@humber.ca

Kate Horodnyk

Kate Horodnyk

Marketing & Events Coordinator

katherine.horodnyk@humber.ca

Barath Michel

Barath Michel

Project Coordinator

Barath.Michel@humber.camber.ca

Camila Perez Pena

Camila Perez Pena

Project Coordinator

Camila.PerezPena@humber.ca

Jaqueline Nicol

Jaqueline Nicol

Operations & Research Ethics Board Coordinator

jaqueline.nicol@humber.ca

Duarte Ribeiro

Duarte Ribeiro

ARI Financial Administrator

duarte.ribeiro@humber.ca

Steph Afonso

Steph Afonso

Administrative Support Specialist

stephanie.afonso@humber.ca

Barrett Centre for Technology Innovation

Neal Mohammed

Neal Mohammed

Director, Centre for Technology Innovation

neal.mohammed@humber.ca

Nelia Louro

Nelia Louro

CTI Coordinator

nelia.louro@humber.ca

Leighton Henry

Leighton Henry

Program Coordinator

leighton.henry@humber.ca

Giovanni Loggia

Giovanni Loggia

Program Coordinator

giovanni.loggia@humber.ca

Centre for Entrepreneurship

Raeshelle Morris

Raeshelle Morris

Manager, Centre for Entrepreneurship

raeshelle.morris@humber.ca

Nisshanee Peduruppillai

Nisshanee Peduruppillai

Administrative Coordinator

nisshanee.peduruppillai@humber.ca

Frequently Asked Questions

Partners
What kind of research takes place at Humber?

Applied research, so research that solves a specific problem provides a measurable and immediate benefit. All of the applied research and innovation projects we fund involve external partners: industry or community organizations.

How long does it take to prepare a grant application?

This depends on the granting agency and the funding requested. Humber faculty or staff will lead the project and will be completing the application. Contact research@humber.ca to learn more about how to partner with us on your project.

Faculty
How can Applied Research & Innovation help me?

We can help you turn your idea into a research question.  Once your research question has been identified, we can help you identify partnership opportunities, identify funding opportunities, and complete grant applications.  We can also assist with the management of awarded funds, student research assistants, risk, project timelines, and financial reporting.

Does Applied Research & Innovation conduct any research?

No, Applied Research & Innovation does not conduct research.  We work with faculty members, staff members, students, and industry partners to support applied research at Humber.

I want to apply for funding, but I don’t know where to start. What should I do?

We are here to help! Contact us at research@humber.ca, and we will be happy to discuss your options.

What approvals do I need to apply for funding?

Faculty or staff must have the approval of their Humber Dean or Director before preparing and submitting a funding application. External grant applications must be approved by Applied Research & Innovation before submission to the granting agency. We will work closely with you to ensure you have the right approvals in place before you apply for funding.

Does Applied Research and Innovation provide funding for Humber employees engaging in research activities for academic credit or credentials?

No. Research activities for academic credit or credentials (e.g. a faculty/staff member’s Masters or PhD thesis research) are not eligible for Applied Research & Innovation funding.

Students
What is the Research Assistant Online Tutorial?

The Research Assistant Online Tutorial is an interactive and comprehensive training module designed to introduce students to the basic principles of research at large, and working as a Research Assistant (RA) in particular. The tutorial, offered by Humber as a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) through CourseSites by Blackboard, provides an overview of the research process, distinguishes between types of methodology and analysis, and acts as an educational resource for students doing research in class or those hired as RAs for faculty-led research.

How do I submit my timesheets?

All timesheets must be submitted to your supervisor by 12:00 noon on the due date.  No timesheet will be approved by Applied Research & Innovation before it has been approved by your supervisor.  Your supervisor is responsible for approving and emailing your completed timesheet to research@humber.ca by 4:00pm on the due date.